My favorite movie quotes

These are my top 5 movie quotes of all time. They deeply affected me emotionally and some of them just made me question my existence and reality of things. They are in no particular order because honestly, I don’t believe in favorite movies. They all touch you in different ways.

1.) Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

“You said “so go” with such disdain, you know?”

If you haven’t watched Eternal Sunshine, please stop reading this piece of shit and go watch it. Seriously. And bring a barrel of tissues. And to those who had watched it, then you know what part of the movie this quotes was taken. I like this line very much because it is so sincere, its so honest and so regretful. The delivery of Jim Carrey was so raw that I feel so much discomfort during the dream sequence. Very, very good film.

2.) The Matrix

“What is real? How do you define real? If you’re talking about what you can feel, what you can smell, what you can taste and see, then real is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain.”

This line punched me in the brain because it makes a lot of sense. We believe the world is real because our brain tells us that it is. But how do we know that our brain is not being stimulated by high technology aliens? Damn. Guess we’ll never know? We’ll just eait for someone to unplug us from the matrix.

3.) Bruce Almighty

“Parting your soup is not a miracle, Bruce, it’s a magic trick. A single mom who’s working two jobs, and still finds time to take her kid to soccer practice, that’s a miracle. A teenager who says “no” to drugs and “yes” to an education, that’s a miracle. People want Me to do everything for them, but what they don’t realize is, they have the power. You want to see a miracle, son? Be the miracle.”

Yeah, Bruce Almighty is all fun. But this quote is so inspirstional, you know? Like someone successful was telling his rags-to-riches story in front of the audience. I don’t know why. I love this one. It makes me think how I always expect God to do everything for me.

4.) Memento

“So you lie to yourself to be happy, there’s nothing wrong with that. We all do it.”

The ever forgetful Leonard Shelby. I like this quote because it is so applicable to everyone, we lie about everything to ease our pain and I agree. Lying for self-contentment is not necessarily bad. It is bad if you do it everytime and it slowly becomes a delusion but everything that is too much is bad, anyway. 

5.) Lost in Translation

“The more you know who you are and what you want, the less you let things upset you.”

This movie is so subtle. The title, the dialogue, the actions, the WHISPHER. The freaking whisper at the end. Yeah, this is a very good existentialism film. The way I see it at least. It is a very boring looking movie because it is about the dull moments of life and I appreciate the alienation thing with the Japanese culture. The quote above summarizes the movie for me;p and generally, my life. I watched the movie on the period of my life where I was just.. lost. Spiritually and emotionally detached from myself. So this film was literally my bestfriend back then. What a nerd I am.

Leave a Reply

